Guest Post: Revlon Balm Stain Review|High Street Spy|

27 Aug

Hello to all of Maisie’s followers!

My name is Simone, and I’m here today as a guest writer while Maisie is away on holiday! My blog is simytoe.wordpress.com if you’re interested, and you can find me on twitter under the handle @simytoe.

Anyways, enough self promo – onto my post! Since both Maisie and I are lip product addicts (as proven by her Lip Product Addict Tag and her Top 5 Spring Lipsticks) I thought it would be fitting if I did a post about a lip product. I’ve recently picked up a few lip crayons from Revlon, so I’m going to do a little review on their Balm Stain line! I’ve also tried their Matte and Lacquer versions, but the Balm Stains are definitely my favourite!

revlon 1

So last fall I picked up Revlon’s Just Bitten Kissable balm stain in 025 Sweetheart, and then last week I picked up Revlon’s Colorburst balm stain in 001 Honey. I’m not really sure why one is ‘Just Bitten Kissable’ and one is ‘Colorburst’, as they seem to be the same product to me. Sweetheart is a really bright pink while Honey is a darker, more natural looking pink.

revlon 2revlon 3

*001 Honey *

I really like lip crayons in general because of their easy application, and these ones are no exception. They go on really smoothly like a lip balm, and aren’t sticky or anything. Also they taste slightly minty which is a major bonus, for me anyways 😉 Since they are a ‘stain’, they are quite long lasting, and you don’t have to worry about all of your lip colour coming off when you’re eating.

One of my main concerns when it comes to lip products is how hydrating they are. I have incredibly dry lips that peel and bleed really easily and I find that with a lot of lipsticks my lips will be peeling within an hour of putting them on (gross, I know). However I have been really impressed with these balm stains by Revlon. They’re fairly hydrating when you put them on, and if I reapply every half hour or so my lips don’t dry out at all. I guess that’s the ‘balm’ part of ‘balm stain’! I’ve had days where I’ve forgotten to bring a lip chap with me, and have had to use one of these lip crayons instead, and my lips were completely fine!

revlon 4revlon 5

*025 Sweetheart*

Onto the colours that I got. I love love love Sweetheart because it’s so bright and fun! I don’t usually spend a lot of time doing my makeup, and I think that putting a bold lip colour on is a great way to look put together without a lot of time or effort. And especially since I don’t usually wear lipstick or lipgloss as they ruin my lips, when I do wear them I like going for a more dramatic look. However, with Honey, I can opt for a more subtle, neutral look, without sacrificing my lips, and I’ve found myself reaching for it a lot since I’ve gotten it. It’s kind of my perfect ‘my lips but better’ shade, so it adds a bit of colour and shine but isn’t too dressed up for just wearing around the house.

Overall I think I’d give these lip crayons a 4.5/5. The colours are gorgeous, they last forever, they’re easy to put on, and they’re hydrating! Have you guys ever tried any of Revlon’s lip crayons? Or have you tried any other really good lip crayons that you’d recommend? I’m sure both Maisie and I would love to hear about them in the comments 😉

Thanks for reading!
XO Simytoe

2 Responses to “Guest Post: Revlon Balm Stain Review|High Street Spy|”

  1. Molly August 28, 2014 at 7:51 pm #

    Both great colors! 🙂

    http://life15juicy.wordpress.com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Reading Tag | Simytoe - August 27, 2014

    […] I recently wrote a guest post for my friend Maisie which you can check out here. It’s a review of the Revlon Balm Stain lip crayons, so if you’re interested hop on […]

Leave a Reply

