My Name is Maisie… And I’m a make-up-aholic. |High Street Spy|

27 Jul

Hello,

So I don’t know if any of you have noticed but I have been trying to stick to a blog schedule where I publish posts every Wednesday and Sunday evening, and it was all going well until my parents turned my wifi off without me knowing because of building works meaning I was unable to get onto my blog and write. Failllll. I ideally need to be writing a lot now I have internet as I am away all next week staying with my cousins and actually having a life away from blogs and laptops, (I know disgusting right?) But on the plus side I have some really fabulous collabs coming up, one I am especially excited about as it is slightly different to usual. So watch this space!

*If you would like to collab or guest post with me this summer, please drop me an e-mail atย HighStreetSpyBlog@yahoo.co.uk, along with any ideas you may have. I would love to meet some new blogging friends, as well as some new and different posts on High Street Spy*

Ramble over.

At the beginning of this month, myself and my friend Olivia were in The Body Shop in Bournemouth, just after we’d had a spend up in Boots, Liv turned to me and said, ‘right that’s it, we need to go on a beauty spending ban.’ (Of course that is not word for word accurate, but I believe it was something as decisive and dramatic as that was!) And because I literally was broke at this point of the shopping trip I completely agreed, as I knew it was exactly what us and our bank balances needed. Myself and Liv are very similar when it comes to our love of make-up and in a way we sort of encourage each other with the whole, ‘you really suit that lipstick colour’ or ‘buy it, you’ve been saving for ages’ every time we are in any make-up shop, which means of course we have a lot of make-up, but also a lot of make-up we don’t really like/ use, and a lot less money than we had at the start of each month. So we have changed our encouraging to buy make-up to encouraging us not to buy make-up.

If I’m honest, Liv has it easier than me, because everyday I click on the wordpress app or onto Twitter and see all you bloggers raving about a lipstick or an eyeshadow which 9/10 of the time I would properly pick up the next time I was in Boots. (Liv will probably be disagreeing but it’s true ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) Over the past few years to say my make-up collection has grown is an understatement, I’ve gone from a powder and mascara wearing 13 year old to a contouring, lipstick wearing, eyebrow filling 16 year old with a bank statement that makes me want to cry. But I don’t want to waste my mascara do I? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Make-up has always had this appeal to me, because nothing is the same, each brand there is something different, different textures, different colours, different products that are being launched practically every week that I need to try. For blog purposes of course. ๐Ÿ˜‰ No products are the same, you might have an orange lipstick from Revlon but it doesn’t mean it’s the same from the one from Bourjois, so of course you buy both, and it in 5 different shades, and before you know it you’ve filled you basket with products realistically you don’t really need. But then again you get the points on your Boots card so you aren’t completely guilty and it was probably 3 for 2, right?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

*13 year old Maisie’s complete make-up bag vs. a tiny amount of 16 year old Maisie’s make-up collection*

So for months now I’ve been spending more than enough money on make-up, and so has Liv, so with the exception of skincare items such as cleanser, for the month of July we are banned from buying beauty items all together, and it’s almost the end of July now and we are still going strong. There was almost one time I almost caved, I was looking at the beauty section in TK Maxx (which is surprisingly good) and I stumbled across some Real Techniques Brushes. Of course I was beyond excited, so I picked up the face brushes kit with the price of ยฃ10! I texted a few people with my excitement, as I walked around holding my find, one friend told me to put them down because of the ban, with me replying, ‘it’s not make-up though!’ and Liv actually replying with a text that was equally as excited. Then to cut a long story short I got to the till and my card was rejected. Boo. But if anyone asks I resisted them okay? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Even though I probably haven’t saved any money from the spending ban, due to the fact I’m spending the money I saved on clothes I needed, which I would normally never do, I have come to conclusion I do not need to buy as much make-up as I buy. Then again I already know what I’ll be buying come August! ๐Ÿ˜€

Has anyone else been or thinking about going on a spending ban, and if so what for and have you been successful or caved in to the calling of the counters or rails?

See you soon,ย 

Maisie x

*Reformed make-up addict. Clean for 1 month*

11 Responses to “My Name is Maisie… And I’m a make-up-aholic. |High Street Spy|”

  1. beverbeee July 27, 2014 at 6:07 pm #

    This post made me laugh so much, i completely agree, there’s always another lipstick or eye shadow thats shouting your name!

    ..x

    • High Street Spy August 2, 2014 at 4:34 pm #

      There are so many shades and so many brands, the temptation is too much! Ahahaha thanks for reading xxxx

  2. prabhatks July 27, 2014 at 6:32 pm #

    Lovely… High street spy…. Anyway me new to here…!! Hope to get along…!!

  3. Sophie July 27, 2014 at 6:52 pm #

    Loved this post. I can relate to that so much. I’ve tried going on a spending ban many times and failed miserably.

    • High Street Spy August 2, 2014 at 4:33 pm #

      It was all going so well until the last day of the month… But I’m keeping that a secret shhhh ๐Ÿ˜‰ xxx

  4. lookbeyondbeauty July 27, 2014 at 7:57 pm #

    Great post! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I go through ‘phases’ when at some point I feel I don’t have enough makeup – and buy it all the time. Then, same thing happens with clothes/shoes/bags… Oh well, what can you do ๐Ÿ˜€
    http://lookbeyondbeauty.wordpress.com

  5. tillzy July 30, 2014 at 12:43 pm #

    Haha this made be laugh. That’s like my book buying, which I have been clean for a long while now because I don’t have the monnies :'(. Those brushes sound awesome, ยฃ10 is pretty good, and I’ve never had a decent set of brushes. Probably the best thing that your card got declined though haaha.
    http://www.hardcoreheroines.co.uk

    • High Street Spy August 2, 2014 at 4:32 pm #

      I’m the same with books! I had a huge clear out of books that I’ve been keeping for years even though I’ve read them 5 times! ๐Ÿ˜‚ I’ll go back to TK Maxx and find the brushes again xxx

  6. Simytoe August 5, 2014 at 3:35 pm #

    Hey Maisie! I recently did the Fashionista Tag, and I nominated you to do it next! Here’s the link: http://simytoe.wordpress.com/2014/08/05/tag-the-fashionista-award/ ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

