Review: Soap & Glory, Thick & Fast Mascara… |High Street Spy|

16 Jul

Hello,

So the other day I went into Bournemouth with my friend Olivia for a bit of shopping, and being the make-up addicts that we are, we had to have a trip to Boots. I was looking for a new mascara, but wanted to try something that was completely new for me or a different brand. So when I saw the Soap & Glory, Thick & Fast mascara for about £10, I decided to pick it up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

First thing first, the packaging is just to die for, I really didn’t expect it to have such pretty packaging so when I took it out the box I was pleasantly surprised. It instantly reminded me of YSL packaging, which is obviously a lot more expensive than the Soap & Glory products are. Both the box and the packaging itself promised a hell of a lot of things, so I was like yay and popped it in my basket.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The mascara formula is super thick and stinks, which I’m not keen on at all, as its so thick (or maybe because it’s new) the brush is coated very thickly and if you don’t wipe the brush it makes your lashes super clumpy and spider leg like which is a look I don’t like at all. I brought the mascara in the shade ‘noir’, and it is a really nice jet black colour if you want really black lashes, I don’t tend to see a difference in black shades as my lashes are naturally black, but if you have brown lashes it will coat them in black really well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The brush is really weird, and I’m not sure if I really like it, as it’s way too technical. The brush is apparently 7 sided and promised to thicken, lengthen and flick your lashes, so of course I trusted what it said on the box and was pretty excited about it. I’m not the best at maths, but I am pretty sure that it does not have 7 sides, it has a v shaped section and the rest of the brush is round, so that is not 7 at all. I first tried it without reading the box, I never really expect to have to read instructions before using a mascara so I didn’t. I tried to put it on like normal, not really understanding the shape of the brush at all but all I found was it made a bit of a clumpy mess, and I really hated it, making me wonder why I wasted £10 on a completely new brand of mascara instead of just going back to Maybelline ones like I normally wear. Then I went back and had a look on the box and it explained that your first had to use the ‘v’ side first to thicken the lashes, and then twist the brush to create volume and flick, which is actually surprisingly quite hard to due with a pretty thick formula and the weird brush. Sometimes it fanned out my lashed well, normally on my right eye, but sometimes it is clumpy and sticky and not nice at all.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Above is a picture of my right eye which it always goes best on, as you can see it does lengthen my lashes and makes them pretty thick, but it is on the clumpy side. I brought this mascara as my previous one seemed to smudge down after a day, and this one doesn’t even flake at all, which is one of the things it promises and one of the main reasons that I brought it. I don’t think it flares out my lashes at all as you can see, which is also pretty disappointing.

Overall I think this mascara does do an averagely good job, and I will probably end up using it up as it’s not terrible, but for the £10 I will not be repurchasing it in the future as it doesn’t live up to all the things it promises.

See you soon,

Maisie x

3 Responses to “Review: Soap & Glory, Thick & Fast Mascara… |High Street Spy|”

  1. Kavi July 16, 2014 at 7:32 pm #

    That’s a shame. I hate clumpy mascaras! But in the picture your lashes look great 🙂 xxx

  2. Kayos Beauty July 17, 2014 at 7:20 pm #

    I’ve really loved Soap & Glory mascaras but I haven’t ever tried this one. I’ve tried the one in the gun metal colour tube and the plastic tube and I’ve loved both! Sorry this one didn’t cut it but definitely an interesting read 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

