My GCSE Experience… |High Street Spy|

25 Jun

Hello everyone,

Now I’ve finished my GCSE exams, I’ve been um-ing and ahh-ing about writing a post about it, probably because I like to share with you all my life but also to help a few of you out who may be doing your GCSEs in the next few years and exams in general. I’ve felt for quite a while that there is never really advice out there that doesn’t come from teachers, who put more pressure on you than give you advice, so I wanted to write a post from a students point of view and maybe some things I’ve learnt from sitting exams.

my gcse experience

Okay, so I haven’t got my results back yet, but I am I firm believer in you get out what you put in, and I put in a heck loads of work, so I’m hoping for the best so I can go on into Sixth Form, to carry on studying to get into Uni in a few years. I suffer with anxiety big time, I’m generally a pretty chilled out kind of girl but when pressure is put on me I freak out, and I completely break down. The idea of GCSE exams was the scariest part for me, way more scarier than actually taking them, so let that be the first piece of advice, don’t freak out, you will be fineI think most people, even if they don’t show it, find the idea of sitting exams that will effect where you go next in your education scary, I guess in a way it is, but you are going to have to do it and I promise you they aren’t that scary when you get there. I’d say the best thing to do is to focus on the end, and tell yourself it is all going to be worth it, it may be a holiday or a party. Just set a target, and eventually you will get there.

Revise as soon as possible. Don’t leave it because it will sneak up on you and you’ll be like ‘crap, I haven’t even revised for the exam I have tomorrow.’ I did that a lot, but even if you only do an hour or so a few days before, at least you will still have a basic understanding, and will also save the panic you have when you find out there is still another chapter you have let to revise, at 10pm the night before. But if you do get to that point, don’t panic, it will just waste time and nothing will go in after that.

Learn how you learn and take advantage of it. I’m a bit of a weird one when it comes to this, I revise differently with different subjects, but one of my favourite ways is to teach someone else the subject, this works the best for history as that is my favourite subject and I enjoy talking about it. But don’t leave it a week before you exams to work out how you revise, I think the best way to do this is during your mock weeks, as you can try techniques and then see how you did and improve. If you didn’t know what learner you are, give it a quick Google and there are loads of tests you can take (not hard ones don’t worry) that will tell you what you are but also ways you can use this to learn.

Actually listen in lessons. I know a  lot of you reading this will probably still be in normal lessons, and this sounds pretty obvious, but whilst you are still learning information actually take it in. I’m guilty of not really caring in lessons, especially in subjects that I would find boring so I took no interest in. But however rubbish it is, you are going to have to know it, and having to teach a whole subject to yourself just before the exam is the worst and equals stress.

Set yourself revision targets and don’t become lazy on study leave. I hate to say, but revision is the most boring thing you will probably have to do, making even the worst day time TV seem 10000% more appealing than it would normally do. But you need to revise, even if you do want to watch the whole of  This Morning. Sorry 😉 . During the mocks I used a revision timetable, but I found it way too hard to stick to, as it was so specific, if you had dinner half an hour later than predicted or went out when you were meant to be revising maths, your whole timetable would be ruined, so it wasn’t really for me. So instead, I brought myself a white board, wrote out the days of the week and next to each day decided on 2 or 3 subjects that I wanted revise that day, then it meant it was less specific and my day wasn’t so strict. But it’s best to find out what works for everyone, so a timetable might actually float your boat.

I could go on and on about exams, but I thought I would wrap this all up here. If like me you have just sat your exams, what have you found out that you want to share, or if you have any advice? Also if anyone is nervous or unsure about exams or GCSEs, I am very much happy to help with more advice, someone to talk to your or revision on specific subjects, just drop me an e-mail you will find in the contact me section or leave a comment.

See you soon,

Maisie x

12 Responses to “My GCSE Experience… |High Street Spy|”

  1. mysteriousbeauties1 June 25, 2014 at 6:35 pm #

    I think this was a great post as when I was taking my exams 2 years ago I had no idea how to approach the whole situation and the results reflected that. Luckily for me the next stage of my career was easy to get to so results weren’t a huge issue but I massively regret saying that to myself thought out revision. I worked less and put little effort in. Even if you know or don’t know the next stage in your life the stage your currently at is a huge one! So work hard it will pay off in the future 🙂

    • High Street Spy June 30, 2014 at 2:15 pm #

      Thank you and wishing you all the best for the future xxx

  2. BlushingBeauty June 25, 2014 at 6:44 pm #

    Ah this is such a great post, I am in Year 10 and I have done 4 GCSE’s this month and I thought they went ok. I am still unsure to my favourtie revision technique so I am still trailling them!xx

    • High Street Spy June 30, 2014 at 2:13 pm #

      Thank you, and you are so lucky you can sit them in year 10! 😉 Teaching is by far my favourite, but it depends on the subject, you still have a year to work out what’s best for you. 🙂 xxx

  3. Catherine June 25, 2014 at 7:35 pm #

    I’m in year ten too and these tips are going to be so helpful next year. I only have two GCSEs this year, I made a revision timetable that only lasted a day and I didn’t pay much attention in lessons so had to go through every single topic in my revision guide xx

    • High Street Spy June 30, 2014 at 2:12 pm #

      Thank you very much, I’m sure if you carry on putting the effort in now you are going to do awesome xxx

  4. arielle June 26, 2014 at 9:50 am #

    such a helpful post! i start revising for GCSE in september, so these tips will really help me out! x arielle aribooxo.blogspot.co.uk

  5. cherryblossom15 June 26, 2014 at 6:30 pm #

    Lovely post! I would have loved to see something like this before I did all my exams!!! I know the what I like to call ’10pm feeling’… Not the best! Hope that you get the grades you want, you so deserve to, it seems like you’ve worked super hard! xx

  6. laurella780 August 10, 2014 at 8:11 pm #

    I’ve finished my GCSE’s this year too and totally agree with you on all of these points! The only way I found it possible to revise was to follow a revision timetable which I found really useful! Hope you get the results you deserve on the 21st 🙂
    Lauren xxx https://thesilverliningsoflifeblog.wordpress.com

    • High Street Spy August 11, 2014 at 9:13 am #

      Thank you, I’m slightly nervous for it! Good luck to you too xxxx

Leave a Reply

