How To: Triple Chocolate Cookies |High Street Spy|…

8 Mar

Hello everyone,

So this week I had a really weird urge to bake, I have no idea why because normally I hate doing it because I don’t see the point in spending hours baking just to be eaten by my piggy family in about 5 minutes. So I looked around for a recipe that looked pretty easy and chocolaty, then decided to make these yummy triple chocolate cookies that Kavi, Tanya Burr, but I got the recipe itself from viviaannadoesmakeup.com.

So I decided to do a very one off post and share my first ever baking experience all on my own, if I can do it, you can try it too. So here is the recipe for you all to try and some little comments of my own. This recipe makes 12 very large cookies, but you can probably double that if you make them more normal sized, also I use a big bowl to mix up your ingredients, or it will get pretty messy!

cookies edit

You will need:

cookies 6

*200g of unsalted butter

*300g of caster sugar

*1 large egg

(I used a medium one and it worked just as well)

*275g self-raising flour

*75g cocoa powder

*Three large bars of chocolate~ dark, white & milk

*A splash of milk

Before you start~ Preheat your oven to 220 degrees or 200 degrees for non fan oven.

1. Put your butter into a bowl, and put it into the microwave for about 10 seconds just to soften it, take it out and mix the sugar into it with a spoon like me, or if you are very snazzy an electric wisk, until it goes creamy.

2. Crack the egg and add it into the bowl. (I cracked mine in a separate jug just in case it all went wrong and I got shell in the mixture. But if you are a skilled egg cracker, go ahead and crack it straight into the mixture.) 

3. Break the chocolate all up into the squares. (It is completely acceptable to test all the different types of chocolate just to check they are suitable to eat, a few squares missing from the recipe won’t harm. Promise.)

cookies 5

4. Throw all your dry ingredients into the bowl, self-raising flour, (don’t bother with all the sifting business) cocoa powder, and chocolate pieces then mix them in together. (I would mix all the other ingredients firstly before adding the chocolate as it’s harder to mix when there is loads of chocolate in the way!) It may be a little bit dry so add in tiny splash of milk to bind it together.

cookies 4

5. Line 2 baking trays with baking paper, (this is where it gets messy and I hope you have washed your hands) and scoop the mixture into 12 handful sized balls, spreading them quite far apart on the tray as they expand a lot!

cookies 3

6. Pop in the oven for 10 minutes, then take them out and leave them to rest on the tray for a further half an hour to harden up on the outside and stay gooey on the inside.

And that is it!

cookies 2

Personally I feel I have achieved domestic goddess level today for my first ever time at bake on my own and this is the first baking post on High Street Spy! This day is historical okay? 😉

If you like this sort of post, are trying this out, or have a recipe to share with me, please let me know by liking and commenting , as I might be trying out more of this baking malarkey. The Great British Bake Off here I come!

Maisie x

11 Responses to “How To: Triple Chocolate Cookies |High Street Spy|…”

  1. Simytoe March 8, 2014 at 8:42 pm #

    Those look delicious! 🙂

    • High Street Spy March 8, 2014 at 8:43 pm #

      They really are! Can’t eat more than one as they have so much chocolate in! Xx

  2. mydearbakes March 9, 2014 at 5:48 am #

    Wow! What a stunning looking bake ! =)

    • High Street Spy March 9, 2014 at 10:07 am #

      Thank you very much! They are so nice the day after when the chocolate cools completely xxx

  3. Charisma March 9, 2014 at 7:47 am #

    Mmm soo good, they look delicious!

    • High Street Spy March 9, 2014 at 10:08 am #

      Thank you very much. So easy for a first time baker like myself xxx

  4. Paul March 9, 2014 at 10:58 am #

    They look really tasty

  5. bakewithmeblog March 9, 2014 at 9:24 pm #

    I’ve made these cookies before too! I spotted the recipe on Tanya Burrs blog. Yours look fab, I love the huge chocolate chunks, the more chocolate, the better! http://bakewithmeblog.wordpress.com/2013/11/05/triple-chocolate-cookies/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chocolate Chunk Cookies Quick and easy recipe and you only use one bowl. - March 9, 2014

    […] How To: Triple Chocolate Cookies |High Street Spy|… […]

Leave a Reply

