Review: Maybelline Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser…

28 Jan

Hello everyone,

Hope you are all well?

So recently I popped into the mother ship (you may know it as Boots) to get my friend a birthday present and to pick up some essentials I needed, toner and pore strips. Whilst I was there I remembered I really wanted to pick up the Maybelline Baby Skin Primer just because I’ve never used one before and I am always curious to try products that are highly advertised. I expect pretty great things from those products. I own two baby lips, the pink and clear one, and if I’m honest I’m not completely convinced with them, I don’t think they really hydrate for long and the pink looks a bit cheap, and the smell/ taste is slightly weird, but I wanted to give the primer a go.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

First of all the pastels are a winner with me, because as you might be able to see I am a lover of pastels. The tube itself is not actually very big, with a pointy small tip so not a lot comes out of it, and you don’t need to use a lot of it for your face. A pea sized amount covers about half of my face but I apply it pretty generously (I also have a pretty big face.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The product is clear, and has a sort of greasy feel to it but even though it does feel like it, it doesn’t look like it on the face. Before putting it on I cleanse, tone and moisturize (all Simple) and then once it’s all sunk it I apply the primer. You can spread it out easily onto the face, it creates an even look and also calms down redness I have around my nose. It says you can wear it without make-up on top, which is pretty snazzy because you can go for the natural look but still feel confident you have some product on your face as it does smooth out the face, making it pore-less. (I haven’t tried this yet because I have two whoopn’ red spots that are a match for foundation and concealer. But when I do, I’ll let you know.)

The only thing I’m not so keen on is that it doesn’t sink in very fast into the skin, even though it does feel lightweight, so you can either wait for it to do so, or put make-up over it straight away, but the skin (even though it doesn’t look it) feels slightly greasey. My skin is combination skin with dry patches here and there but it does make my skin feel really soft and doesn’t dry it out, keeping it feel hydrated all day. I’m not a big fan of fragrance products as they feel they are burning my skin and 99% of the time I do not like the scents, and this one is fragrance free the lovers of all things boring and smell-less.

Overall I do really enjoy using this product, as I am really getting less lazy with my skincare and I am feeling the benefit of it.

I know a lot of people asked me about this product and if the £7.99 was worth it, but I think if you are looking for a budget primer it will last you a long time, and I’d say is as good as Benefit Pore-fessional primer which I am a big fan of.

See you all soon,

Maisie x

6 Responses to “Review: Maybelline Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser…”

  1. thestylesleuth January 28, 2014 at 8:42 pm #

    I’ve heard so much about this product! I want to try it!

    • High Street Spy January 30, 2014 at 7:34 pm #

      It’s really good, normally some highly advertised products are slightly disappointing but this product wasn’t. Thanks for reading xxx

  2. Zoe Archer January 28, 2014 at 9:01 pm #

    I LOVE this primer. I thought the Benefit Porefessional was my holy grail but this equals it.

    zoea2812.blogspot.com

  3. Simytoe January 28, 2014 at 10:05 pm #

    Great review! Maybe I’ll have to pick one of these up next time I’m at the pharmacy 😛

    • High Street Spy January 30, 2014 at 7:33 pm #

      Yeah you should do, I really recommend it! Thanks for reading xxx

Leave a Reply

