Flower Girl Dress, Designed & Made By Me…

19 Jan

Hello everyone,

Currently having a break from homework to blog about what’s been going on in my life at the moment and one of which was I finished my last GCSE textiles project this week. The second project at GCSE is to pick either 2 cushions, an women’s sleeveless dress or a flower girl dress to design, make and evaluate. Personally I am a lover of children’s wear just because it’s 100 times easier then women’s fashion, just because you can be over the top but because it’s for children it is totally acceptable, that’s why I chose to do a flower girls dress, but I also wanted to try and make a higher quality item and test myself.

photo

Above is a photograph of my notebook and a paint colour chart, (that I later drew all over) that I took with me when I went to the fabric shop. As my design work is all at school on big A3 pages, I don’t have a picture of that unfortunately but the really quick sketch I drew for the lady in the shop shows a bit of my limited art skills, but I did stick to my design pretty well. The pattern for the dress was brought from John Lewis and luckily went up to size 7-8, which I wanted for my dress so it would fit my lovely little model Zoe. But on that visit I gained a Β£20 John Lewis gift card, due to the staff being extremely rude and unhelpful to me, pretty disappointing as it was my first time using the John Lewis haberdashery department that was actually pretty confusing. (I’ve been slightly scared to go back since because I complained. Eeeek.)

photo 1

I’m not the best at the whole making of textiles, but after doing this I can see I’m not completely hopeless and I’ll improve going onto study A-Level fashion next year. I prefer the designing stages because I’ve just always preferred drawing and the ideas behind fashion, not actually the whole materialization of it. (Literally when it comes to textiles.) From the beginning I knew I wanted to use lace and pastel colours, because I love that combination and wanted my flower girl dress to be worn during the spring. I’m a believer in simple, and classic when it comes to weddings, so I tried to get that idea across in my design. Oh yeah and of course my favourite colour, pink!

photo 2

Flower girl= flowers, so I made a big-ish flower using the same material as the rest of the dress, even though it looks darker because I melted the edges of it to make it look wrinkled, and sewed on the same pearls as the ones I (painstakingly) hand sewed onto the lace. In total I couldn’t actually say how long this took me to make, but after a lot of unpicking and beading, I am pretty happy with the end result. Now I need to do more paper work (yawn) and have it modelled so I can snap some photos, and edit them. (Is it bad to say that’s one of my favourite parts of the whole project?)

flower girl dress 1

It needs a good press but here it is, a dress I hope Barbie, Elle Woods, and maybe Audrey Hepburn (because it’s vintage and all) would be happy with. πŸ™‚

What do you guys think? Feedback from you lovely lot would be greatly appreciated.

Maisie x

P.S My prom is coming up in a few months and I am struggling big time to find a dress that other people won’t have. If you know a good website/ brand to get affordable, prom dresses please let me know. Mwah. x

12 Responses to “Flower Girl Dress, Designed & Made By Me…”

  1. Rebecca January 19, 2014 at 3:33 pm #

    That’s amazing! I’d be so proud of myself for making something like that!

  2. misshappybeauty January 19, 2014 at 3:38 pm #

    It looks so beautiful!
    I’m doing GCSE Textiles but we haven’t started our GCSE work yet because I’m in year 10 but it looks really fun xx

    • High Street Spy January 19, 2014 at 3:41 pm #

      Yeah it’s really good. You have to do the skirt first πŸ˜‰ The only thing is you need to keep on top of things and not to stress. Good luck xxx

  3. caitlynthedreamer January 19, 2014 at 4:34 pm #

    When will we see it on you? πŸ™‚

  4. blushingbeauty9 January 19, 2014 at 6:38 pm #

    I do GCSE Textiles and I have made a pair of dungarees and a recycled item coursework piece x

    • High Street Spy January 19, 2014 at 6:58 pm #

      That’s pretty cool, are you going to do a-level? Xxx

      • blushingbeauty9 January 19, 2014 at 7:01 pm #

        Probably not, I don’t really like it, I just took it for the fashion knowledge x

  5. RO January 20, 2014 at 2:09 pm #

    How cute!! Very nice πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

