Products That I Regret Buying…

1 Oct

Hello my lovely readers,

Now I’ve been toying with the idea of writing this post just because if I’d known about what these products were like before I’d brought them I would have never spent my money on them, which is a positive of course. But also in a way I feel a bit bitchy slagging off these products because I think about the people who have worked hard on the products, but anyway I’m going to post this anyway and call this constructive criticism instead. 🙂

Rimmel London Stay Matte Foundation

So disappointing...

So disappointing…

If you saw in my previous blog post, you would have seen that this product was on my wish list and I was really excited about getting it because I do get a shiny t-zone and needed a foundation in the right colour. I really liked the mouse feeling of it and the colour was really great but after wearing it twice has made my skin go seriously down hill. Even though my skin is oily it really dried out my skin round my nose and in between my eyebrows and dry patched under foundation is never a good look; I even moisturised first and it would be completely fine but would dry out during the day. You’d also expect this foundation to do exactly what it says in the name, stay matte, but it didn’t. I wore it to a photo shoot and I started to get shiny from the lights and heat within a few minutes which was really horrible. I also wore it at school and had dance that day, not only did I get shiny but it sweats of in patches. Generally really disappointed in this because I was really excited for it.

Maybelline The Falsies Volum’ Express Black Drama

Love/ hate this...

Love/ hate this…

Okay, so I actually did love this product and just the normal black version of this product, it’s the ‘black drama’ part I really didn’t like when it came to taking it off. I use the Simple cleansing lotion and sometimes the Simple wipes to take off my eye make-up which is normally fine, but this one just would never come off. You’re face would be covered in black and you’d be trying to get it off forever! Then just when you thought you’d get it all off you’d wake up with really dark panda eyes after trying to get it off for over half and hour. The product itself was so dramatic and really made your eyelashes look great but the taking off, not so much.

Rimmel London 1000 Kisses Lip Tint

Why could this not last forever?

Why could this not last forever?

At first, once again I loved this product, I loved the colour and the balm that went with it, it also lasted all day. It lasted for a little while but then the colour began drying up and there was only a tiny amount of balm on the end and it hardly lasted a few weeks, and I had to start using different balm which didn’t work that well. The only thing I’d change is make the balm last so much longer then the product would be perfect. Mwah.

Maybelline Master Shape Brow Pencil

Eww too waxy

Eww too waxy

I must own every eyebrow product under the sun, just experimenting with different products, I liked this one because it was meant to be a little waxy for holding the eyebrows and also a brush to brush those bad boys too. But the wax was too waxy for my liking! You couldn’t sharpen it because it would just fall apart and also when you were applying it. It would also give your eyebrows a really unnatural look and also a shiny finish to it due to the wax which is never a good look.

Primark Vest Top

Someone please take it?

Someone please take it?

I know, not a beauty product but this top is just hanging around my room at the moment because I’ve missed my change to take it back. Why? Because I committed a Primark sin. I didn’t try it on before I brought it. Also I don’t live really close to a Primark so I haven’t been since I brought it to take it back so I’m stuck with it. The fit is really weird and it’s hard to explain, it came quite low on me, so I gave it to Lauren and guess what? It looked weird on her too and on my mum and hers. So right now I’m on the search for someone to give it to but I think that will be a miracle!

Hope you all liked this bitchy post from me! 😉 Remember to follow if you don’t already and let my know if anyone wants this top as you can have it!

P.S I’m working on ideas for a giveaway so if anyone has any idea on what you want from the UK drugstore ranges let me know.

Maisie xxx

21 Responses to “Products That I Regret Buying…”

  1. Kavi October 1, 2013 at 5:28 pm #

    Loved this! Ahaha, I’ll happily take the top 😉 I have that same panda problem with the Rocket mascara, but because it’s waterproof xxx

    • High Street Spy October 2, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

      You can happily have it! But it is really odd and has a weird fit! ;P xxx

      • Kavi October 2, 2013 at 4:21 pm #

        😉 what’s your figure like?xxx

      • High Street Spy October 2, 2013 at 4:22 pm #

        Hour glass I think, but I think you need to be broader with a bigger bust to wear it xxx

      • Kavi October 2, 2013 at 4:24 pm #

        Oh right, is hourglass the curvy kind?xxx

      • High Street Spy October 2, 2013 at 4:28 pm #

        yep xx

      • Kavi October 2, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

        Ahh ok then, I think I might be the same as you!xxx

  2. melissamao October 2, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

    Oh goodness, sharpening the mastershape pencil is a nightmare!

    • High Street Spy October 2, 2013 at 5:11 pm #

      I actually think it is impossible, you think you’ve done it and then you knock it!

      • melissamao October 2, 2013 at 5:13 pm #

        Exactly! After a month, I was only left with the brush at the end. I’m in desperate need of a new eyebrow pencil oh gosh.

      • High Street Spy October 2, 2013 at 5:14 pm #

        Yeah, way too waxy for my liking!

  3. misshappy8p October 2, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

    I loved this post 🙂 I just tagged you in my new post ” The Autumn Tag” http://misshappysbeautyblog.wordpress.com/ xoxo

  4. Notorious Beauty Blog October 4, 2013 at 9:13 pm #

    Not bitchy! Haha I like hearing what people don’t like cuz then I can just avoid it myself 🙂

  5. simplymything October 5, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

    I really don’t like the lip tint either! Haha;’)xoxo

    • High Street Spy October 5, 2013 at 6:35 pm #

      Thanks for reading 🙂 Love your blog xxx

      • simplymything October 6, 2013 at 9:11 am #

        Aw that’s okay! Thankyou:’) I love yours too:’)xoxo

  6. thebeautybeans October 15, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

    Oh it’s such a pity that the rimmel stay matte foundation is not good. I am always on the search for good anti-shine foundations, right now I am trying the revlon colorstay for oily skin, but I really wanted to give the rimmel one a try because it’s much cheaper! And I loved the powder so I thought that maybe it would be as great! such a pity 😦 thanks for sharing, now I know 🙂

    • High Street Spy October 16, 2013 at 4:40 pm #

      I wanted it for ages! So sad it was rubbish 😥 xxx

Leave a Reply

