How To: A Braid Within a Braid…

29 Sep

Hello lovelies,

Like always I’ll start off topic and say I think Sundays are my blogging days,  just because it’s a bit of a lazy day and I actually have time to sit down, take some photos, and write. I will blog at other times but I’ve got into a bit of a habit of Sundays, so it’ll probably stay like that. Next, a very huge, monstrous hug and happy jig from me because I am past my 100 followers target, which was a nice surprise for me when I logged on today, slowly and surely I’m getting there and now I have enough of you to fill a Topshop or maybe 2 Boots shops reading my blog. So thank you, I love you guys!

Normally I’m a pretty boring person when it comes to my hair as I actually have no idea what to do with it to make it look nice. I tend to have 3 hairstyles I stick to because my hair is curly, thick and generally not easy to work with which are a side braid, my hair just down, or a messy bun. I wouldn’t say I really like any loads but I’m still on a lookout for a tutorial that isn’t just for people with perfect hair. But when I was on Tumblr I saw someone had done their hair in a simple side braid but put another braid inside of that, so then I decided to give it a go to see how it’s done. Because my hair is thicker than the person in the picture, the inside braid is not as good but here’s my interpretation for you to try out too.

1. Sweep your hair over to one side

Ignore the dark bags under my eyes at the moment.

Ignore the dark bags under my eyes at the moment.

I put my hair over the left side, just because that’s what I do and because I have a side parting, the most of my hair is on the left side of my head anyway. I put some bobby pins at the back just to hold it to the side and to stop the hair falling forward.

2. Split your hair into 3 parts

Oh' look how happy I am splitting my hair in 3 parts.

Oh’ look how happy I am splitting my hair in 3 parts.

Split the hair into 3 parts like you would do to do a simple braid.

3. Take the middle part hair and braid it

Things are getting technical

Things are getting technical

Take the middle part of the hair and braid it, pulling it tight so that it’s neater for later on and it doesn’t fall apart. Also make sure you don’t catch any other bits of hair because then it won’t braid neatly.

4. Secure the small braid in place with a bobby pin or hair band

A bobby pin

A bobby pin

A thin hair band

A thin hair band

5. Braid all the hair

Action shot.

Action shot.

6. Tie it off with a thin hairband

The finished braid

The finished braid

Et voilà!

Hope you all liked my tutorial on a new take on a basic side braid and will be giving it a go. Very soon I’ll be putting up a post about a giveaway I’ll be doing soon to see what you’d prefer, so if you aren’t following all ready, give me a follow!

See you soon beauties

Maisie xxx

7 Responses to “How To: A Braid Within a Braid…”

  1. Bonnie Amos September 29, 2013 at 1:08 pm #

    Great post hun! Would you mind telling me how you got you’re NEXT blogger button up? I’ve been part of the network for a while but I don’t know how to inbed the button! xx

    • High Street Spy September 29, 2013 at 1:59 pm #

      Thanks, normally it gives you a link to copy and paste into there? xxx

      • Bonnie Amos September 29, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

        Copy and paste into where though? haha xx

      • High Street Spy September 29, 2013 at 2:58 pm #

        Go onto wigets, drag across the ‘text’ option, copy and paste it in there and save. That should do it! Hope that’s helped? xxx

      • Bonnie Amos September 29, 2013 at 9:29 pm #

        Yes! Thankyou hun 🙂 xx

  2. Lauren September 29, 2013 at 1:36 pm #

    ooooh i like this, may have to try it 😉 i have a feeling my hair will just fall out of it though:’)

Leave a Reply

