Tutorial: Everyday Drug Store Natural Smokey Eye in 10 Steps…

7 Sep

Hello everyone,

I hope that you are all excited as I am because this is my first ever tutorial, even though I do went to go into YouTube, I haven’t really had time to sit down and make another video but I really want to get a new editing software, because movie maker is really pants and even though my camera film quality is really good, it turns it rubbishy. But I thought I’d try and write a tutorial instead, so I hope you all like it and try it out, as I really like it and have this look on currently. This summer was a really crazy when it comes to High Street Spy as it got pretty popular and I’m so close to 100 followers and I’m beyond excited, but at the moment it’s gone a bit cold on recent blog posts, (sniff sniff) so if you’re reading this, please give it a like, just so I know you are and I can check out your blog too!

Anyway, I was a big lover of eye shadow a few months ago but sort of went off it as it took quite a long time to do and I just wanted to do my make-up quickly and without much fuss. Then I was watch Tanya Burr’s tutorials and realised what an effect eye shadow has on a look and how it really opens up your eyes, so I decided to try it out. If you know me, you will probably be guess that I will be using drug store make-up to do this but also I’ll describe the colour because you might have eye shadows that look really similar. This tutorial is completely high end and expensive make-up free! Also you can make the smokiness of the look darker, but I tend to wear it less dark so it’s more of an everyday look like I do. If you want to create look below (excuse my face) just follow my simple steps!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

1. Prep your skin

Making the perfect base

Making the perfect base

Just like cooking, preparation is key to a good finish, what I do is use Simple Hydration moisturiser to make sure I have no dry skin that make-up will cling to and I also use tweezers to get rid of any stray hairs on my mad eyebrows. If you are going to use tweezers to do your eyebrows, remember that over plucking can stop hair growth and no to take anything from the shape and leave that to the beautheripists.

2. Concealer

I dab concealer round my nose and under my eyes

I dab concealer round my nose and under my eyes

Personally, I like to put on my concealer first before putting on my foundation or BB Cream, just because I feel it’s easier to blend the concealer in first but it’s really up to you what you’d rather do first. I put concealer on any blemishes, round my nose to reduce the redress and round my eyes, dabbing it in a sort of triangle shape. I was watching QVC beauty and the make-up artist said to dab concealer in a triangle shape because they darkness under your eye does actually extend downwards. So after you’ve dabbed in a triangle shape, work it upwards and it really freshens up your face. If you have no blemishes I think that everyone should try it under the eyes to really brighten up the appearance of your whole skin.

My concealer of choice

My concealer of choice

The concealer I use is Collection (was Collection 2000) Lasting Perfection Concealer, which is my favourite one, I’m on my second one now and almost finished that one. The colour really matches my skin, gives great coverage and lasts a long time, which is great if you are just wearing concealer.  This concealer is really low in price but you can just use whatever concealer you have or whatever is your favourite.

3. Foundation (Or BB cream in my case)

My very loved product

My very loved product

As I was actually writing this post mum just came back with a new No.7 BB cream, and I must of gone through about 3 of these now so I do really love this product during the summer months because I buy this in a medium for when I’m more tanned. This a really light product and it really easily blends into your neck. If you have great skin anyway, you can skip this step out but there’s not much I can say about this. I don’t use a brush when I do this step because I feel it takes to long to blend it all in but also it takes forever to wash the brushes, but do whatever floats your brush.

4. Inner corner eye shadow

White/ creamy shimmer eye shadow

White/ creamy shimmer eye shadow

I used a white/ creamy shimmer eye shadow from my Rimmel London Quad in the inner corners of the eye but also on the insides of the eye. Putting it there will widen the eyes and be the first step in creating the smoky eyed look but also gives a natural look to it. I think the best shadow to use for this is one that has a shimmer to it instead of matt as it really widens the eyes. I used a sponge applicator to apply this as I just needed to dab it into the eye slightly, only working it a little way.

The arrow represents where to apply the shadow

The arrow represents where to apply the shadow

5. Outer eye shadow

The outer eye shadow colour, dark brown shimmer

The outer eye shadow colour, dark brown shimmer

I used a eye shadow brush from Models Own to blend this dark brown into the outers of my eyes, blending it up and into the crease of the eye, then I went over with a clean blending brush from Models Own, just to blend the two colours together and make sure it’s all even on both eyes. If you don’t have a brush, just use a clean sponge but make sure you blend it into the light colour that may be a little harder but it can be done.

Me using a Models Own brush to blend in the  eye shadow

Me using a Models Own brush to blend in the eye shadow

The blended in shadows

The blended in shadows

6. Eyeliner

The liquid eyeliner I used

The liquid eyeliner I used

I used liquid eyeliner to create a very thin line as I wanted to create more of an everyday look. You can use gel or liquid (I used Miss Sporty, Studio Lash Liner) but I find using pencil over shadow a bit hard and seems to collect the eye shadow along the lash line.

The thin line, everyday look

The thin line, everyday look

7. Mascara

My favourite mascara

My favourite mascara

Apply your favourite mascara! Mine is a waterproof Maybelline The Falsies Volum’ Express mascara, so it sticks around all days without panda eyes.

I can see you...

I can see you…

8. Eyebrows

Eyebrow hero

Eyebrow hero

I fill in my eyebrows just because they are a bit sparse at the moment and just to darken them a bit but you don’t have to do it. Eyebrows are big (literally) at the moment and really help frame your face. I use a L’Oreal Super Liner, that has the colour, a wax and brush.

My darkened eyebrows

My darkened eyebrows

9. Powder and lips

Gives a perfect matt finish

Gives a perfect matt finish

Powder gives a perfect Matt finish, cover blemishes and brushes away any shadow that has fallen from your eyes, so I do this step at the end. I use a Models Own powder brush and L’Oreal True Match Powder. Also apply any lip products if you feel you need it but I didn’t.

Action shot! Putting powder on my T-Zone

Action shot! Putting powder on my T-Zone

10. The finished look

Me. Loving the finished natural look!

Me. Loving the finished natural look!

Hope you like it and will be trying it.

Maisie xxx

3 Responses to “Tutorial: Everyday Drug Store Natural Smokey Eye in 10 Steps…”

  1. littlebowrby September 8, 2013 at 11:07 am #

    Your blog is cool .! ❤

    • highstreetspy September 8, 2013 at 11:09 am #

      Thank you, and thanks for the follow! I’m very glad you like it and hope you like future posts! 🙂 xxx

      • littlebowrby September 8, 2013 at 11:12 am #

        Ahah don’t worry about it. I hope you’ll like mine too 🙂 xxx.

Leave a Reply

