My Back to School Skin Care Routine…

22 Aug

Hello everyone,

Sorry I haven’t blogged in a while, I’ve been quite busy planning something pretty exciting that you’ll be seeing on this blog very soon, and hopefully you’ll all get involved with, so watch this space! Also, I’m so close to 50 followers! (I know, it’s pretty rubbish but after a few months of getting into my blog it will be quite an achievement) So if you’re reading this and don’t follow me, please follow me and you’ll make my day.

Okay, so with school starting in a week and a bit for me, it’s time to try and get the skin looking half decent for when I turn up for school, because I know that the last thing I want to be worrying about in my GCSE year is my skin looking rubbish, so I’ve decided, let this be the year of the good skin! But even if you aren’t going back to school, it’s always nice to have beautiful clear, soft skin on your face, and maybe even we’ll get brave enough to have a naked face day soon? So I’ve been looking around in Boots and also on blogs and Youtube to see what people recommend and been trying them out to see what I think works for me, and generally what everyone should do, and came up with a basic skin care routine to clear up your skin from any blemishes or redness. I’m not a skin expert at all, so I’m not promising you perfect skin in the slightest, but I’m just going with my personal experience, and also you can’t just expect all your bad skin to just turn amazing over night, it takes time and effort, but if you put that into it, you will get the results of clear skin eventually.

Cleanse

Before we get into the whole cleansing stuff, you need to get rid of those quick fix cleansing wipes. Right now! Hide them in the bathroom cupboard or in a draw! If you are using wipes (like I used to as well) you need to stop being lazy and only use wipes for eye make-up, and sleep overs as these wipes are not helping your skin at all. Okay, so now we’ve got that out the way you need to go out and invest in some cleansing lotion as these are a lot better for deeply cleansing all the muck (technical term) off your skin and I’ve found, leave your skin really soft and lovely. My favourite cleansing lotion that I’ve used is Simple Kind to Skin Purifying Cleansing Lotion because I’m not a big fan of fragrances and chemicals because they always make my face feel sore and I don’t like the way they smell. You might not be a fan of Simple yourself, but I really recommend trying this cleansing lotion because it’s the cheapest top quality cleanser I feel. If it turns out not being your skin, there are lots of other good cleansers out there (I repeat no wipes!) just find one that makes your skin clean, clear and happy. For the best results cleanse your skin at night and never go to bed with your make-up on however tired you are, because your skin will pay for it big time! Also cleanse your skin in the morning too to get all the grease off your face, as putting make-up on top of greasy skin will create more spots.

Simple Cleansing Lotion

Simple Cleansing Lotion

Moisturiser

Personally I moisturise my skin at night so I wake with soft skin, then after cleansing my skin in the morning I put on some more moisturiser then go and in the time it takes me to get dressed it’s completely soaked in ready to do my make-up because the worst thing is your make-up clinging to dry skin. The job of the moisturiser is to attract moisture on your face to create a barrier to hold the water that is already there. If you’ve been in the sun a lot this summer, your skin is probably in need of some moisture TLC especially. So I have two different moisturisers depending on your skin type, for all dry and regular skin, the Simple Kind to Skin Hydrating Light Moisturiser. This is generally a great natural moisturiser and the one I use most, and leaves my skin nice and soft. If you have more Oily skin or acne skin, I recommend Simple Spotless Skin Blemish Moisturiser. It contains spot fighting ingredients but nothing bad that will upset your skin, it also reduces oily skin and redness too and using this regularly should help improve your skin.

Moisturiser for normal/ dry skin

Moisturiser for normal/ dry skin

For Oily and Acne Skin

For Oily and Acne Skin

Exfoliate

There are a lot of exfoliation products on the market, but because I’m writing this for fellow teenagers like me, so the last thing we want to do is over do our skin and make it worse or sore. So when picking an exfoliator, it’s best to go for a product that is not too harsh on the skin and something that is not too chemically but this isn’t really essential for young skin. My favourite one is one I got to review for a magazine which was Superdrug Simply Pure Scrub, but I’ve just had a look online, and they don’t seem to do it anymore but they have brought out an equivalent which is Naturally Radiant Micro Polish Scrub. It scrubs away all your dry skin and leaves it nice and soft and I exfoliate about once a week, but sometimes I leave it longer depending on how good my skin is.

I'm unsure whether Supedrug still make this scrub but this is my favourite for sensitive skin

I’m unsure whether Supedrug still make this scrub but this is my favourite for sensitive skin

Extra Bits and Bobs I love

Boots Tea Tree and Witch Hazel Pore Strips

These pore strips aren’t everyone’s favourite but I really like them. I used to use the Bore Nose Pore Strips but they are quite expensive, so when I went to Boots to pick up some more I realised Boots did equivalent Pore Strips that were more natural with tea tree and witch hazel for a fraction of the price, so I thought, why not try these and compare them? The Boots ones are not just for the nose, which I fin is where I get the greasiest and the most spots, but can be used where ever on the face you need them which I liked, but generally I found these equally as good as the Bore ones. I use these about once a week or whenever I get a build up a black heads and they really help. For the best results, get the area you want to use them completely soak your face, and put on the strip really pushing them down so they get into the pores.

The cheaper alternative to other pore strips on the market

The cheaper alternative to other pore strips on the market

Boots Tea Tree and Witch Hazel Blemish Stick

So whilst I was picking up the pore strips, I saw they did a blemish stick too, which doesn’t just dry up spots but helps prevent them and using it for a little while, it has really reduced spots I’ve been getting and also made my skin less red. I use it at night as it is quite greasy so it’s not very easy to put make-up over the top of but I would recommend picking one up for spot emergencies as it’s also super cheap.

Get rid of that spot!

Get rid of that spot!

I’ve been doing my back to school skin care routine for almost two week now and I’m already seeing results, so start your skin care routine now to hopefully get your skin nice and clear for school, because spots should be the least of your worries!

What are your favourite skin care products so I can try them out? Also remember to follow this blog if you haven’t already to help me reach my goal, because I’m thinking if I get 100 followers I will do a big beauty give away, but only with that many followers, so get following! Before I go I should mention, I’m going on holiday in a few days so I won’t be blogging for a week, but I will be working on a super cool blog project you can all get involved with that I’m very excited about!

See you all soon,

Maisie xxx

6 Responses to “My Back to School Skin Care Routine…”

  1. steph punchard August 22, 2013 at 1:22 pm #

    Thanks for the great post! Will definitely be trying out some of those simple products!
    Please take a look at my blog if you get a chance 🙂
    http://inspiredesired.wordpress.com/
    xx

    • highstreetspy August 22, 2013 at 4:24 pm #

      Thank you for taking your time to read this post, I’m glad you liked it and I hope you’ll like feature posts on my blog. I’ll take a look at your blog now 🙂 xxx

  2. Alyshea Surani August 22, 2013 at 7:07 pm #

    nice post!! http://www.alysheasurani.com

  3. Lauren August 22, 2013 at 8:55 pm #

    i looked for this moisturiser today but tesco don’t have it boo 😦 i had to get the wash instead…

Leave a Reply

