Review of Barry M Gelly Hi-Shine nail varnish…

19 Aug

To make your Monday a little bit better, why not paint your nails? So that’s where I’m here to help, by reviewing yet another Barry M nail varnish. (woo!)

So I love Barry M nail varnishes as you may know, so as soon as these Gelly Hi Shine nail varnishes came out I headed straight to Boots to pick up one, but because there was an offer on, I got 2, which were Grapefruit (which I’m wearing right now whilst I’m writing this) and Light Blue. They come in some really lovely colours but I decided to get these two colours because I thought these would be the ones I’d get most wear out of.

The two nail varnishes I picked up

The two nail varnishes I picked up

My first plus point is that they were really cheap at £3.99 a bottle, but also there’s always an offer on at Boots which means you can always pick up more than one because your too tempted by the other pretty colours they have on offer. The first colour I put on was the Light Blue, and I used a Sally Hansen base coat first so the nail varnish would last longer without chipping, and started to paint on the varnish. What I found was it felt really rubbery when I was painted on which didn’t make it the easiest to apply and you need to have quite a lot of paint on the brush if you want to do it in one stroke, I wasn’t completely sure if I liked this but I did expect it to be like this due to it being a high shine look.

Light Blue varnish, the first one I used

Light Blue varnish, the first one I used

So I’m not that good at painting my nails and whilst I was painting another coat on my left hand to build up the colour, I accidentally knocked my right ring finger, and catching a bit of the nail varnish. With normal nail varnish it’s quite easy to touch up the nail by just painting over it and I did that, but it started to go weird and sticky, it also didn’t dry when I’d done this, so I ended up taking it off that finger and doing that nail again.

The nail varnish I'm currently wearing

The nail varnish I’m currently wearing

So even though the rubber feel I wasn’t such a fan of I do really love the colours. I’m a really big lover of bright colours so I loved the range offered by Barry M. With one coat it did have a really strong colour, but I did apply two coats and the colour was really strong, just like how it looks in the bottle. Without a top coat it did look quite shiny but not as high shine as I expected it to be. So I did put a Sally Hansen high shine top coat on top of it and it did come out with a really nice glossy shine to them, which I really like. But I found there was another problem with how rubbery the varnish is, they chipped quite easily and once they chipped, the varnish would completely peal off before you had the chance to touch it up. This varnish chipped after a few days of wearing it, so I recommend touching it up straight away otherwise you might catch it and it will peal off.

Generally I did love the colour of the Gelly Hi-Shine varnish and the finished look but the only problem really was how rubbery it was. I’d probably give these a 3 star rating and I’m not completely sure if I’d buy any more but I do love the colour range available, so good job Barry M.

What are your opinions on these varnishes or are there any more you’re loving right now?

Maisie xxx

 

One Response to “Review of Barry M Gelly Hi-Shine nail varnish…”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Top 5 Spring Nail Varnishes… |High Street Spy| | High Street Spy - April 23, 2014

    […] I am currently wearing this colour of my nails, I think this tone of blue looks a lot better with a tan as it is pretty bright so it is one for spring/ summer months. This is also a ‘gel’ effect so it has that high shine finish to it which I love. I reviewed these many moons ago so you can also go and read about these polishes in more detail here. […]

Leave a Reply

